Blog

Tips On What To Do When You Get A Speeding Ticket In Virginia

Getting pulled over by a traffic officer for speeding can be a nerve-wracking experience under any circumstances, and even more daunting when you’re driving a rental car. Apart from the urban stretch of the DC area, the remainder of Virginia is mainly rural, where the highways can stretch through the countryside for hundreds of miles before getting to a big city.

speeding ticket

How Much Are Speeding Tickets In Virginia?

Virginia is known for charging severe penalties against drivers exceeding the speed limit with twenty miles or going faster than eighty miles per hour. This is viewed as reckless driving, and this misdemeanor could lead to a year of jail time and a fine of up to $2500. Speeding penalties through the state of Virginia are contingent on where you were, how fast you were going, and the particular situation. For instance, in Fairfax, a fine is usually $6 for each mile per hour that you’ve exceeded the speed limit and $7 for each mile over the speed limit when speeding in a school or work zone. However, when caught speeding in a residential area incurs you $8 per mile as well as a $200 penalty. A $66 court processing fee also accompanies tickets. According to statistics from the National Association’s website, Virginia cities with the most speed traps are Emporia, Richmond, Woodbridge, and Wytheville.

How To Handle Speeding Tickets In A Rental

Unlike toll and parking ticket violations, there is more to learn about speeding tickets in Virginia. Speeding tickets are usually tied to the drivers. If you’re being pulled over by a cop, you’ll be capable of handling the fine on your own, probably without the rental agency ever finding out. You can decide whether you’ll be paying to fine or contesting it. Going to traffic school or completing a defensive driving course online might also be a choice for preventing points on your record. There is one method of how the rental company can find out about the offense. Getting caught on a speed camera that takes a photo of the license plate would mean the notification will go to the rental agency, after which it will be passed on to you with an added cost. If you receive the notice via mail about a speed camera-related offense, pay it immediately to prevent dealing with collections agencies or having your name put on the “Do not rent list.”

How To Pay For A Speeding Ticket In Virginia?

You must pay the speeding ticket in Virginia, irrespective if you live there or not. Most states agree to notify each other about speeding violations, and the points will be added on your license for out-of-state offenses. You can also try to contest the fine, but this would mean showing up in court, and you could incur extra legal fees. The best way going forward is to pay for the speeding ticket while in Virginia or to head over to the Virginia General District court website and to pay for the ticket with a credit or debit card.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
Close