Common Types of Auto Accidents Where You Should Hire a Lawyer

Katy, TX, accounts for over 6% of auto accidents in Texas. The legal consequences of auto accidents in Texas will vary based on the severity of the accident and the accident type.

You are bound by Texas laws to compensate the victim if you are the “at-fault” driver in an auto accident. Besides covering the victims’ medical expenses, you will also have to compensate the victim for property damages.

An expert Katy car accident lawyer can help you handle the case. Conversely, if you are an auto accident victim, the lawyer can help you get the highest possible compensation for your personal injury and property damages.


First-time offenders could end up paying up to $2000 for DUI in Texas. You may note that DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) is a more severe offense than DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Texas. Offenders could be charged with a DWI offense if the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is higher than 0.08%.

Minors who are arrested for drunken driving in Katy, TX, are charged with DUI offenses. Besides penalties, offenders may also face license suspension for up to 12 months. Hence, it is recommended you contact your Katy car accident lawyer immediately if you are arrested for DUI or DWI.

Car accident lawyers may find it challenging to get to an acquittal if you fail your breathalyzer and drugs tests. However, an expert santa maria car accident lawyer may be able to get you a “plea bargain.”

Rash Driving

Rash driving or reckless driving claims several lives every year. You may be charged a fine of up to $200 and up to 30 days jail time if convicted of the offense. The intensity of the punishment will escalate if there is a police chase involved. This accident is considered a traffic misdemeanor as per Katy, TX, laws.

Drivers who attempt to flee after causing a reckless driving accident could be punished with fines as high as $4000 and up to one year in prison. The act of fleeing the police is considered a criminal offense in Katy, TX.

Hit and Run Accidents

The expert lawyer Timothy J. Ryan exclaims that drivers at fault for hit and run accidents have to pay for the victim’s personal injury expenses and property damages. The penalty charges or hit and run accidents can be between $500 and $5000. The offender may also face up to 10 years in state prison for causing hit-and-run accidents.

Vehicular Manslaughter

Any auto accident could become vehicular manslaughter if:

  • The driver behaved recklessly and irresponsibly.
  • Such behavior resulted in the death of one or more persons.

Vehicular manslaughter is considered a felony of second degree in Texas and comes with fines as high as $10,000 and/or up to 20 years in prison.

Wrap Up

Consider contacting your Katy car accident attorney as soon as you can if you are involved in an auto accident in Katy, TX. A car accident lawyer’s services are especially essential if the offense is criminal or considered a felony.

Auto accident lawyers understand the laws surrounding car accidents. The legal expert can help you collect evidence, prepare submissions and offer representation services to ease the legal consequences of the accident.


Exit mobile version